2021 Scholarship Program

Fall 2021 Scholarship Application Details:

The ASHE Phoenix Sonoran Section Scholarship Committee is offering multiple scholarships to qualified undergraduate students from Arizona colleges and universities who are pursuing a degree and career related to the planning, design, or construction of highways. For additional information, please reference the corresponding Scholarship Program Application Form and Eligibility Requirements.


  1. Enrolled in a university located in the state of Arizona.
  2. Enrolled in a Bachelor degree program related to transportation planning/engineering/construction.
  3. Must be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student in your junior or senior year for the Spring 2022 semester.
  4. Must not be on academic probation.
  5. Must not have already received an ASHE scholarship in a prior year.
  6. Must be able to accept the award in person at the December 14, 2021 ASHE Section Meeting Breakfast in Phoenix, AZ.


  1. Download the Scholarship Program Application
  2. Complete the application. The application must be typed and your responses cannot exceed the space provided.
  3. Attach a copy of your current (Spring 2021) transcripts.

If Awarded:

  1. I understand that if offered an award I must enroll, or be enrolled, in a highway industry related curriculum as a full-time undergraduate student for the Spring 2022 semester in order to receive the award.
  2. Mark your calendar. If you are awarded the scholarship, you must accept the award in person at the December 14, 2021 ASHE Section Meeting Breakfast in Phoenix, AZ.

Note: Application must be received by Nov. 1, 2021 to be considered for the Scholarship Award. The completed Application, along with all required attachments, should be emailed to the ASHE Scholarship Committee at the following email address:

Scholarship Committee:
Josiah Roberts @ josiah.roberts@aecom.com

Congratulations to the 2021 ASHE Scholarship Winners

2021 ASHE Scholarship Winners

  • Co-Winner – James Lednicky ($4,000)
  • Co-Winner – Valentine Rivera ($4,000)
  • 2nd Place – Ashley Hall ($2,000)

Congratulations to the 2020 ASHE Scholarship Winners

2020 ASHE Scholarship Winners

  • Winner – Alison Geiselman - $3,500
  • 2nd Place – Taylor Davis - $2,500
  • 2nd Place – Wyatt Reinke - $2,500
  • 3rd Place – Julia Zimmerman - $1,000

Congratulations to the 2018 ASHE Scholarship Winners

2018 Fall Scholarship Winners:

  • 1st-Tied $3,000 – Samantha Cole (NAU – Civil Engineering)
  • 1st-Tied $3,000 – Cole Maurer (ASU – Civil Engineering)
  • 2nd $2,000 – Jay Nguyen (ASU – Construction Management)
  • 3rd $1,000 – Allyson Marnocha (NAU – Civil Engineering)

2018 Spring Scholarship Winners.

Congratulations to the 2017 ASHE Scholarship Winners

Wesley Scatena, Jr.
Michael Schubert
Northern Arizona University
Awarded $3,500
Courtney Burdett
Courtney Burdett
Arizona State University
Awarded $2,000
Miranda DeSimone
Miranda DeSimone
Arizona State University
Awarded $2,000

Michael Schubert - Winner
Michael is a senior at Northern Arizona University and will graduate in December. He is working as a certified ACI/ATTI Construction Inspection Intern for ADOT. He was the Materials engineer for the NAU Concrete Canoe team this year. He plans on applying to the ADOT EIT program when the next offering is available. He lives to swing a golf club and participates in Flagstaff’s Professional Engineering softball team “Uncivil” when he is not working nights at the hot plant this summer for an I-40 paving job.

Courtney Burdett - Runner-up
Courtney is a senior at Arizona State University where she is studying civil engineering with a focus in transportation. She is also a student of Barrett, the Honors College. She is an intern with T.Y. Lin International at the Tempe office where she is part of their roadway group. This experience has been an excellent learning experience and greatly enhanced her skills in this field. She is very grateful for the generosity of ASHE and the opportunities this scholarship will give her to finish out her last year of school and move into her future career path.

Miranda DeSimone - Runner-up
Miranda is a senior at Arizona State University studying civil engineering with a focus in transportation engineering. She is interning with Kimley-Horn in their transportation planning and traffic operations group. As an active member of ASCE at ASU, she took on the role of secretary for ASCE this year. Her other leadership experience includes being an undergraduate teaching assistant for CEE 384 (numerical methods), and being an E2 Camp counselor for ASU engineering the past three summers. She has also been a member of Engineering Projects in Community Service.

Congratulations to the 2016 scholarship recipients

Robert Richards – Arizona State University Student
Bethany Kieffer – Northern Arizona University Student.

Both applicants submitted exceptional applications that rose to the top, and each received a $2,000 scholarship.

Congratulations to the 2015 scholarship recipients

Wesley Scatena, Jr.
Wesley Scatena, Jr.
Arizona State University
Awarded $2,000
De'Von Jennings
De’Von Jennings
Arizona State University
Awarded $1,000
Brianne Porter
Brianne Porter
Arizona State University
Awarded $1,000

Congratulations to the 2014 scholarship recipients

Christopher Sobie, civil engineering student at Northern Arizona University, has been selected to receive the $1,500 scholarship.

Robert Richards, civil engineering student at Arizona State University, and Haley Koesters, civil engineering student at the University of Arizona, have also been selected to receive $500 scholarships.